Henry F. VanBrocklin, PhD, FSNMMI, FSRS to receive the Western Region SNMMI Pioneer Award

Tahoe, CA-  The Western Regional Society of Nuclear Medicine will honor Henry F. VanBrocklin, PhD, FSNMMI, FSRS with the presentation of the Western Pioneer Award in recognition of his decades of service and lifelong positive impact on Nuclear Medicine and the Western Region SNMMI. The Award will be presented at the Western Region Annual Meeting, scheduled for October 28-30, 2022 at the Resort at Squaw Creek in Tahoe, CA.

VanBrocklin is Professor of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging and Director of Radiopharmaceutical Research at the University of California San Francisco (UCSF). His work in the field spans the full spectrum of radiopharmaceutical science disciplines from short-lived radioisotope production to new agent development to creation of radioisotope chemistry and labeling strategies for new radiotracer preparation to translation of new radiotracers for clinical evaluation.

VanBrocklin’s current research interests include design of imaging agents targeting cancer cell surface markers, development of new strategies for labeling biomolecules with imaging and therapeutic isotopes, preparation of probes for neurodegenerative disorders including ALS, the application of imaging in drug development and elaboration of zirconium-89 labeled antibodies for various applications including rheumatoid arthritis and HIV reservoir detection. Dr. VanBrocklin has successfully translated several tracers into humans and has written 10+ successful IND’s for first-in-human studies.

He is co-chair of the Coalition for PET Drug Manufacturers, an organization he co-founded to support interaction of the PET community with the FDA. He is Immediate Past-President of Society of Radiopharmaceutical Sciences. He was elected as a SNMMI Society Fellow (FSNMMI) in 2018, was selected as a Distinguished Investigator by the Academy for Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Research in 2018 and elected as a Society of Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Fellow (FSRS) in 2021.

VanBrocklin was the recipient of the 2020 Michael J. Welch Award from the Radiopharmaceutical Science Council of the SNMMI.


Comments are closed.